The Executive

The Executive meets the first Wednesday of every month, alternating between Neepawa and Carberry at 4:30. Everyone is welcome to attend the meetings.

If you have any questions or concerns please contact a member of the executive to assist you.

We still require a person to fill the liaison position. If you are interested contact someone on the executive.

TRAF

Did you know that you can make additional voluntary contributions (AVCs) to TRAF in addition to your regular TRAF contributions?

AVCs do not impact your TRAF pension formula, but are rather like a separate retirement savings account. Making an AVC this year will reduce your allowable RRSP contribution room next year by the same amount.

If you wish to make an AVC, it

must be deducted from your salary as a payroll deduction. You may increase, decrease or discontinue this deduction at any time. For further information you can contact TRAF, at 204 949 0048

BPTA Newsletter

Merry Christmas From Your Executive



Position	Name	School	Contact
President	Michelle McMillan	CCI	834-2172
Vice President	Dale Swanton	NACI	476-3305
Secretary-	Loretta Keller	HMK	476-2323
Treasurer-	Robyn Forsman	Fairway Colony	763-4103
Collective Bargaining	Heather Brister	Willerton School	476-2740
Employee Benefits	Sheena Taylor	HMK	476-2323
Professional Development	Val Parayeski, Trish James	NACI J.M.Young	476-3305 966-3508
Public Relations	Claudette Christison	NACI	476-3305
Workplace Safety and Health	Kerry Turner	NACI	476-3305
Liaison	Dale Swanton	NACI	476-3305
Equality and Social Justice	Alicia Gawaziuk	Brookdale School	834-2172
Small Schools and Colony Rep	Kathie Roe	Brookdale School	354-2166
Education Finance	Heather Brister	Willerton School	476-2740
HMK School Rep	Sheena Taylor	НМК	476-2323

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING UPDATE: MANITOBA TEACHER BARGAINING IN CONTEXT

This 2014-15 school year all 38 Manitoba local teacher collective associations under provincial public jurisdiction have begun the process of negotiating new collective agreements as their current agreements expired June 30, 2014.

As of mid-October 2014, five new collective agreements have already been concluded. Of the five, two agreements (Flin Flon and Portage la Prairie) are 4 year terms expiring in June 2018 with the remaining three new agreements (Seven Oaks, St. James-Assiniboia, and Seine River) with 3 year terms expiring June 2017.

The settlement pattern affecting teacher salaries are annual increases beginning each September of 2.0% per year for the period between 2014 and 2017. For those associations with 4 year deals, the settlement in 2017-18 was 3% (comprised of 1.5% in September followed by a further 1.5% at January 2018).

Welcome to the Beautiful Plains School Division

Britton Woods - Psychologist

Kelsey Brown - Acadia Colony

Charlene Vandenbosche - NACI Courtney Chandler - NACI Amy Buchanan - Rolling Acres

Justine Burke - CC Blaine Hall - CC Colin Wollmann - Willerton Colony

Elizabeth Campbell - CC

Brad Mabon - Sprucewoods Colony